Northern Lights in Central Oregon

It was 12am when I read from photographer friend Gary Randall that the Aurora Borealis would be showing up strong in Oregon.  I immediately grabbed my camera gear and hit the door running.  As I started driving up the Cascade Lakes Highway I could see it was going to be a good night for night photography.  Driving over the fresh three inches of snow I made my way down to Sparks Lake.  I was the only person there.   It was brisk with a slight wind coming out of the North.  When I walked over to the view point I could see a slight red in the sky.  I set my camera up on my tripod and clicked down the shutter.  Waited patiently 30 seconds and said out loud, “holy shit.”  I finally captured the Northern Lights.  It has been a long time coming and I was stoked the conditions finally turned out.

skylerhughes-aurora

Leave a Reply

